Eze Anaba emerges NGE President; Uwugiaren, Akinadewo, Nwosu, others return to exco

Mr Eze Anaba, Editor of the Vanguard Newspapers, on Friday night, emerged as the new President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE).

Anaba scored 250 votes to defeat his rival, Mr Bolaji Adebiyi, who scored 81 votes in an  election which took place in Owerri, Imo State.

The election was held during the NGE’s National Biennial Convention.

The result was announced by the Chairperson of the election committee, Mrs Maimuna Garba.

Other positions contested were General Secretary won by Iyobosa Uwugiaren, Vice President East, Sheddy Ozoene, Social/Publicity Secretary, Charles Kalu, and Treasurer, Steve Nwosu.

A member of the Standing Committee, Gabriel Akinadewo, returned unopposed as Assistant General Secretary.

Husseina Bangshika was elected Deputy President.

Umoru Ibrahim and Garba Kabir were elected as Vice Presidents (North and West).

Also elected were Standing Committees including Onuoha Ukeh, Oluwole Shogunle, Rose Moses, Dom Isute and Chinedu Egere.

Speaking after his election, Anaba thanked members of the Guild for the confidence reposed in him and promised not to let the Guild down.

He thanked the outgoing president, Mr Mustapha Isah, for his leadership attributes and for organising a successful election.

He pledged to uphold the Constitution of the Guild and promote the ethics of the journalism profession and to lead the campaign against policies that undermine media freedom.

“I will do everything to achieve our guild’s vision and mission for the socioeconomic and political development of our Guild and country, Nigeria,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *