President Tinubu inaugurates National Economic Council

President Bola Tinubu has inaugurated the National Economic Council (NEC), charging the Council to work with his administration to revive the economic fortunes of Nigerians.

Speaking at the inauguration of the NEC at the Council Chambers of the State House in Abuja, President Tinubu noted that the task of reviving the economy before the new administration is daunting but noted that there would be no excuses not to deliver, since they all begged and even danced before Nigerians to give them the job.

He charged the Council to get to work, pointing out that Nigerians are waiting for them, saying “it is very reassuring that our citizens are behind us, but they want reforms and they want them very quickly.”

The NEC, which is under the chairmanship of the Vice President, was inaugurated on Thursday, a week after Tinubu called for its convening to fast track the process of finding answers that will mitigate the effects of the petroleum subsidy.

The NEC meets monthly and has the mandate to “advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation.”

Membership of the NEC comprises of the 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria and other co-opted Government officials.

Those in attendance when meeting commenced are: Governors Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (Kwara); Ademola Adeleke (Osun); Yahaya Bello (Kogi); Biodun Oyebanji (Ekiti); Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa);  Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom); Peter Mbah (Enugu);  Bassey Otu (Cross River); Caleb Muftwang (Plateau); Nasir Idris (Kebbi); Aliyu Radda (Katsina) and Hycinth Alia (Benue).

Others are, Dauda Lawal (Zamfara); Dapo Abiodun (Ogun); Charles Soludo (Anambra); Mai Mala Buni (Yobe); Agbu Kefas (Taraba); Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta); Siminalayi Fubara (Rivers);  Mohammed Bago (Niger) and Ahmad Aliyu (Sokoto).

Also present are Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi);  Uba Sani (Kaduna);  Godwin Obaseki (Edo); Alex Otti (Abia); Douye Diri (Bayelsa); Abba Yusuf (Kano); Bala Mohammed (Bauchi); Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Borno Deputy Governor Umar Kadafur, with Ondo’s Acting Governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume; Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila; the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Mele Kyari; Acting Accountant General of the Federation, Oluwatoyin Madein, Acting Governor of Central Bank, Folashodun Shonubi, Permanent Secretaries Budget and National Planning, Federal Capital Territory Administration, and State House were also in attendance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *