38-year-old Egbedun emerges Osun Assembly Speaker

From John Dike, Osogbo

A Member-elect from Odo-Otin State Constituency, Mr Adewale Egbedun, was yesterday elected Speaker of the Osun State House of Assembly.

The 38-year-old Egbedun was elected as Speaker of the 8th Assembly after he was nominated by Ibrahim Abiola of Irewole/Isokan constituency and seconded by Araoye Samuel, another member.

At the inaugural sitting of the 8th Assembly, presided over by the Clerk of the House, Mr Simeon Amusan, a member-elect from Ife North Constituency, Akinyode Oyewusi emerged as the Deputy Speaker of the House.

Babajide Kofoworola from Ede North Constituency emerged as Majority Leader, Adekunle Oladimeji of Irepodun/Orolu Constituency as Deputy Majority Leader, while Olawale Akerele from Ilesa West was elected the Chief Whip, and Afeez Ibrahim from Olaoluwa Constituency became the Deputy Chief Whip respectively.

Folorunso Ogundare representing Ayedaade constituency elected as the Leader (West Senatorial District), and Kanmi Ajibola, Leader (East Senatorial District), while the Leader (Central Senatorial District) is Kasope Abolarin from Ifedayo State Constituency.

The immediate-past Deputy Speaker of the House, Mr. Femi Popoola is the Minority Leader, and he is the only member of the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC), in the 8th Assembly.

The inaugural plenary was attended by the Governor of the State, Senator Ademola Adeleke, his Deputy, Prince Kola Adewusi and top government functionaries and dignitaries across strata of the state amidst pomp and glamour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *